Carrier DIM rule changes
divisors, rounding & thresholds

Every dimensional-weight divisor, rounding rule and size threshold this site calculates with, each one with the date it took effect and a link to the carrier document it came from — plus the places where a carrier’s own documents disagree.

Rules verified 22 Sep 2026Checked against the official rules: FedEx Service Guide 2026 · UPS 2026 Rate and Service Guide (Daily Rates) · USPS DMM 223 (Priority Mail: DIM weight, cubic, nonstandard fees) · DHL Express US Service & Rate Guide 2026 · Amazon Seller Central — Product size tiers. Carriers change these rules, usually each January and July — see what changed and when, and confirm against your own rate sheet or account.
Timeline

Changes we have recorded

Only changes whose wording we read on the carrier’s own page or PDF are listed. Where a carrier changed a rule without announcing a date — which happens more often than you would expect — the entry says so and gives the window instead of inventing one.

  1. 12 Jul 2026USPS
    Dimensional weight divisor cut from 166 to 139

    Applies to Priority Mail Express, Priority Mail, USPS Ground Advantage and Parcel Select, at both retail and commercial prices. The 1,728 in³ threshold below which USPS charges actual weight did not change.

    “The Postal Service is changing the DIM factor to 139 to determine the dimensional weight in pounds.”USPS Postal Bulletin 22705 — DMM Revision: dimensional weight

    Sources: USPS Postal Bulletin 22705 — DMM Revision: dimensional weight · USPS DMM 223 (Priority Mail: DIM weight, cubic, nonstandard fees) · USPS DMM 283 (Ground Advantage — Commercial, cubic)

  2. 17 Apr 2026Amazon FBA
    3.5% fuel and logistics surcharge applied to FBA fees

    Applies to FBA in the US and Canada and to Remote Fulfillment with FBA. It is a percentage on the fulfilment fee, not a change to a size tier or divisor.

    Sources: Amazon — 2026 US FBA fulfillment fee changes

  3. 15 Jan 2026Amazon FBA
    2026 US fulfilment fee changes take effect

    Fee amounts and weight bands change; the size tier definitions and the ÷139 dimensional weight rule did not.

    Sources: Amazon — 2026 US FBA fulfillment fee changes · Amazon — 2026 US referral and FBA fee changes summary

  4. 5 Jan 2026FedEx
    2026 Service Guide and surcharge changes take effect

    Additional Handling — Dimension and Oversize amounts rise. The size thresholds that trigger them did not change.

    Sources: FedEx Service Guide 2026 · FedEx 2026 surcharge and fee changes

  5. undatedUPS
    Measurement rounding changed from nearest to up

    UPS did not announce this as a dated change; the wording simply differs between two Rate and Service Guides. The guide effective 23 December 2024 reads “rounding each measurement to the nearest whole number (for example, 1.00 to 1.49 will be considered 1, and 1.50 to 1.99 will be considered 2)”. The guide effective 7 September 2026 reads as quoted.

    “For each dimension, measure at the longest point, rounding each fractional measurement up to the nearest whole number (for example, 1.1 will be considered 2).”UPS 2026 Rate and Service Guide (Retail Rates)

    Undated by UPS. In force by 21 December 2025; still round-to-nearest in the guide effective 23 December 2024.

    Sources: UPS 2026 Rate and Service Guide (Retail Rates) · UPS Retail Rate and Service Guide (effective 23 December 2024) · UPS — Shipping dimensions and weight

  6. 18 Aug 2025FedEx
    Each fraction of an inch rounds up to the next whole inch

    Stated in the FedEx Service Guide. Note that FedEx's own summary page still describes rounding to the nearest whole inch — see the contradictions section below.

    “any fraction of an inch is rounded up to the next-higher inch”FedEx Service Guide 2026

    Sources: FedEx Service Guide 2026 · FedEx — What is dimensional weight

This list starts in 2025 and is not a complete history of every rate change. It covers the rules that change what a calculator returns: divisors, how dimensions and weights are rounded, and the sizes and weights that trigger a surcharge. Rate amounts are the carriers’ to publish.

Watch out

Where carriers contradict themselves

FedEx rounds up in the Service Guide and to the nearest inch on its website. The 2026 Service Guide (p. 135) says “any fraction of an inch is rounded up to the next-higher inch”, while What is dimensional weight says “round each measurement to the nearest whole inch”. The Service Guide is the contract document, so this site rounds up. If you are arguing an invoice, quote the Service Guide.

USPS uses two different divisors for nonrectangular parcels. DMM 223 §1.4.3 (Priority Mail) divides a nonrectangular parcel’s volume by 166, while DMM 283 §1.4.3 (Ground Advantage, commercial) divides by 139. Rectangular parcels use 139 in both. Both sections were read on 22 Sep 2026.

UPS describes its two divisors two different ways. The support page frames it as rate type — 139 for Daily Rates, 166 for Retail Rates. The Retail Rate and Service Guide frames the same numbers as destination — 166 for domestic, 139 for export. They agree on the arithmetic; they disagree on why.

These are not errors on the carriers’ part so much as documents maintained by different teams. They matter because a customer-service reply and a billing system can be reading different ones.

In force now

Every figure this site calculates with

These are read straight out of the one data file the whole site is built from, so what you see here is what every calculator and box page on the site used. “Not dated by the source” means the carrier publishes the rule but not the day it started — common in service guides, which are reissued yearly without a change log.

FedEx (US)

Dimensional weight

In force from 5 Jan 2026 · source: FedEx Service Guide 2026 p. 135 · read 22 Sep 2026

Divisor (in)139
Divisor (cm)5,000
Deferred freight (in)166
Rounding effective18 August 2025

Additional Handling

In force from 5 Jan 2026 · source: FedEx Service Guide 2026 pp. 127–129 · read 22 Sep 2026

Longest (in)48
Second (in)30
Length + girth (in)105
Cubic (in³)10,368
Minimum (lb)40
Weight US (lb)50
Weight international (lb)55
Soft pack (in)18 × 13 × 5

Oversize

In force from 5 Jan 2026 · source: FedEx Service Guide 2026 pp. 128–129 · read 22 Sep 2026

Longest (in)96
Length + girth (in)130
Cubic (in³)17,280
Weight (lb)110
Minimum lb US90
Minimum lb international0

Maximum size and weight

In force from 5 Jan 2026 · source: FedEx Service Guide 2026 pp. 127–129 · read 22 Sep 2026

Longest (in)108
Length + girth (in)165
Weight (lb)150

Fees and surcharges

In force from 5 Jan 2026 · source: FedEx 2026 surcharge and fee changes · read 22 Sep 2026

Residential US$6.95
Residential ground$6.45
Delivery Area Surcharge residential$6.60
Delivery Area Surcharge residential extended$8.80
Delivery Area Surcharge commercial$4.45
Delivery Area Surcharge commercial extended$5.55
Delivery Area Surcharge remote$16.75
Additional Handling DIM$29.50–$40.75
Additional Handling weight$46.00–$58.75
Additional Handling packaging$26.50–$33.75
Oversize US$255.00–$330.00
Unauthorized ground$1,875.00

Where two figures are shown, the surcharge is a range: the lower figure is the standard rate and the higher one applies in peak periods or at the higher-cost tiers. Check your own rate sheet for which applies.

UPS (US)

Dimensional weight

In force from not dated by the source · source: UPS 2026 Rate and Service Guide (Daily Rates) p. 19 · read 22 Sep 2026

Daily (in)139
Retail (in)166
Retail export (in)139
Divisor (cm)5,000

Not stated in the source; in force on the verified date.

Additional Handling

In force from not dated by the source · source: UPS 2026 Rate and Service Guide (Daily Rates) pp. 179–181 · read 22 Sep 2026

Longest (in)48
Second (in)30
Length + girth (in)105
Cubic (in³)10,368
Minimum (lb)40
Weight US (lb)50
Weight international (lb)55
Soft pack (in)18 × 14 × 6
Flat maximum height (in)1

Not stated in the source; in force on the verified date.

Large Package / Oversize

In force from not dated by the source · source: UPS 2026 Rate and Service Guide (Daily Rates) pp. 179–181 · read 22 Sep 2026

Length + girth (in)130
Longest (in)96
Cubic (in³)17,280
Weight (lb)110
Minimum (lb)90
International length + girth (in)130

Not stated in the source; in force on the verified date.

Maximum size and weight

In force from not dated by the source · source: UPS 2026 Rate and Service Guide (Daily Rates) p. 181 · read 22 Sep 2026

Weight (lb)150
Longest (in)108
Length + girth (in)165

Not stated in the source; in force on the verified date.

Fees and surcharges

In force from not dated by the source · source: UPS 2026 Rate and Service Guide (Daily Rates) pp. 179–183 · read 22 Sep 2026

Residential ground$6.50
Residential air$7.00
Delivery Area Surcharge commercial$4.50
Delivery Area Surcharge residential$6.55
Delivery Area Surcharge extended commercial$5.70
Delivery Area Surcharge extended residential$8.85
Additional Handling size$30.00–$40.50
Additional Handling weight$46.50–$58.75
Additional Handling packaging$26.75–$33.75
Large Package commercial$219.50–$286.00
Large Package residential$254.50–$331.00
Over maximum$1,875.00
International Additional Handling$36.35
International Large Package$235.00

Not stated in the source; in force on the verified date.

Where two figures are shown, the surcharge is a range: the lower figure is the standard rate and the higher one applies in peak periods or at the higher-cost tiers. Check your own rate sheet for which applies.

USPS

Dimensional weight

In force from 12 Jul 2026 · source: USPS DMM 223 (Priority Mail: DIM weight, cubic, nonstandard fees) §1.4 · read 23 Sep 2026

Divisor (in)139
Nonrectangular divisor Priority Mail (in)166
Nonrectangular divisor Ground Advantage (in)139
Over (in³)1,728
Cap (lb)70

Size limits

In force from not dated by the source · source: USPS DMM 101 (maximum size and weight) §3.2 · read 22 Sep 2026

Maximum length + girth (in)108
Maximum length + girth Ground Advantage retail (in)130
Maximum (lb)70

Not stated in the source; in force on the verified date.

Nonstandard fees

In force from not dated by the source · source: USPS DMM 223 (Priority Mail: DIM weight, cubic, nonstandard fees) §1.10; DMM 133 §1.8 · read 22 Sep 2026

First length (in)22
Second length (in)30
Cube (in³)3,456

Not stated in the source; in force on the verified date.

Cubic pricing

In force from not dated by the source · source: USPS DMM 223 (Priority Mail: DIM weight, cubic, nonstandard fees) §1.3; DMM 283 §1.3 · read 22 Sep 2026

Priority Mail maximum (ft³)0.5
Ground Advantage maximum (ft³)1
Maximum (lb)20
Maximum long (in)22
Soft maximum length + width (in)36

Not stated in the source; in force on the verified date.

See the cubic tiers, including soft packs.

Flat Rate boxes

In force from not dated by the source · source: USPS — Priority Mail (Flat Rate box sizes) · read 22 Sep 2026

Maximum (lb)70

Not stated in the source; in force on the verified date.

See the Flat Rate box sizes.

DHL Express (US)

Dimensional weight

In force from not dated by the source · source: DHL Express US Service & Rate Guide 2026 · read 22 Sep 2026

Divisor (in)139
Divisor (cm)5,000

Not stated in the source; in force on the verified date.

Oversize

In force from not dated by the source · source: DHL Express US Service & Rate Guide 2026 · read 22 Sep 2026

Longest (in)40
Second (in)32
Fee$30.00

Not stated in the source; in force on the verified date.

Overweight

In force from not dated by the source · source: DHL Express US Service & Rate Guide 2026 · read 22 Sep 2026

Weight (lb)150
Fee$100.00

Not stated in the source; in force on the verified date.

Non-conveyable

In force from not dated by the source · source: DHL Express US Service & Rate Guide 2026 · read 22 Sep 2026

Minimum (lb)56
Maximum (lb)150
Fee$30.00

Not stated in the source; in force on the verified date.

Amazon FBA (US)

Dimensional weight

In force from not dated by the source · source: Amazon Seller Central — Product size tiers · read 22 Sep 2026

Divisor (in)139
Bulky minimum side (in)2

Not stated in the source; in force on the verified date.

Product size tiers

In force from not dated by the source · source: Amazon Seller Central — Product size tiers · read 22 Sep 2026

Extra-Large weight bands (lb)50, 70, 150

Not stated in the source; in force on the verified date.

See each tier’s limits side by side.

Product size tiers · small standard

In force from not dated by the source · source: Amazon Seller Central — Product size tiers · read 22 Sep 2026

Weight (oz)16
Longest (in)15
Median (in)12
Shortest (in)0.75

Not stated in the source; in force on the verified date.

Product size tiers · large standard

In force from not dated by the source · source: Amazon Seller Central — Product size tiers · read 22 Sep 2026

Weight (lb)20
Longest (in)18
Median (in)14
Shortest (in)8

Not stated in the source; in force on the verified date.

Product size tiers · small bulky

In force from not dated by the source · source: Amazon Seller Central — Product size tiers · read 22 Sep 2026

Weight (lb)50
Longest (in)37
Median (in)28
Shortest (in)20
Length + girth (in)130

Not stated in the source; in force on the verified date.

Product size tiers · large bulky

In force from not dated by the source · source: Amazon Seller Central — Product size tiers · read 22 Sep 2026

Weight (lb)50
Longest (in)59
Median (in)33
Shortest (in)33
Length + girth (in)130

Not stated in the source; in force on the verified date.

Overmax

In force from 15 Jan 2026 · source: Amazon — 2026 US FBA fulfillment fee changes · read 22 Sep 2026

Longest (in)96
Length + girth (in)130
Maximum (lb)150

Fees and surcharges

In force from 15 Jan 2026 · source: Amazon — 2026 US FBA fulfillment fee changes non-peak, $10–$50 price band, excl. apparel · read 22 Sep 2026

Non-peak from15 January 2026
Non-peak to14 October 2026
Peak from15 October 2026
Peak to14 January 2027
Fuel %3.5%
Fuel from17 April 2026
Small standard minimum$3.32
Small standard maximum$3.96
Large standard minimum$3.73
Large standard 3 lb$6.67
Large standard over 3 lb base$6.97
Large standard over 3 lb per 4 oz$0.08
Small bulky base$7.55
Large bulky base$9.35
Bulky per (lb)$0.38
Extra-Large 0–50 lb base$26.33
Extra-Large 50–70 lb base$37.32
Extra-Large 70–150 lb base$51.32
Extra-Large per (lb)$0.75
Extra-Large 150+ lb base$194.95
Extra-Large 150+ lb per (lb)$0.19
Peak small standard 2 oz$3.51
Low price average saving$0.86

Storage fees

In force from not dated by the source · source: Amazon — Monthly inventory storage fees · read 22 Sep 2026

Standard Jan–Sep$0.78
Over Jan–Sep$0.56
Standard Oct–Dec$2.40
Over Oct–Dec$1.40
Utilisation standard minimum$0.44
Utilisation standard maximum$1.88
Utilisation over minimum$0.23
Utilisation over maximum$1.26
Aged 12–15 unit$0.30
Aged 12–15 (ft³)$6.90
Aged 15 unit$0.35
Aged 15 (ft³)$7.90

Not stated in the source; in force on the verified date.

Parcelforce

Dimensional weight

In force from not dated by the source · source: Parcelforce — measuring international parcels · read 22 Sep 2026

Divisor (cm)5,000

Not stated in the source; in force on the verified date.

Air freight

Volumetric weight

In force from not dated by the source · source: DHL Global Forwarding — calculating chargeable weights · read 22 Sep 2026

Divisor (cm)6,000

Not stated in the source; in force on the verified date.

Pallets

EPAL Euro pallet

In force from not dated by the source · source: EPAL — EPAL Euro pallet specification · read 22 Sep 2026

Length (mm)1,200
Width (mm)800
Height (mm)144
Weight (kg)25
Safe working load (kg)1,500

EPAL publishes no effective date for the specification.

Common footprints

In force from 1 Jan 2003 · source: ISO 6780:2003 — Flat pallets for intercontinental materials handling · read 22 Sep 2026

North American (in)48 × 40

See all the pallet footprints.

ISO 6780 sets the principal plan dimensions for flat pallets, but the standard is paid, so the other footprints here are the sizes in common use rather than quoted specification text.

Retail box ranges

U-Haul boxes

In force from not dated by the source · source: U-Haul — standard moving boxes · read 22 Sep 2026

U-Haul does not date its product pages; dimensions read on the verified date.

See every U-Haul box, measured.

Method

How this page is kept honest

Every number above lives in a single JSON file with a source, an effective date and the date we last read it. The site is generated from that file, so a rule change is one edit and every page moves together — there is no second copy of the number in a hand-written table to go stale. The build refuses to run if a rule has no source or no date, if two carriers’ figures are quoted in one sentence and stop agreeing, or if a worked example no longer matches the rule it demonstrates.

Carriers change these rules around January and July, so that is when this page is re-checked against each source. If you spot something out of date, the source link next to each figure is the document we read.

FAQ

Questions

What is the current DIM divisor for each carrier?
FedEx and UPS Daily Rates use 139 in³/lb in the US; UPS Retail Rates use 166 domestic and 139 export; USPS uses 139 on parcels over 1,728 in³; DHL Express from the US uses 139; Amazon FBA uses 139. International shipments rated in kilograms usually use 5,000 cm³/kg.
When did USPS change its dimensional weight divisor?
12 July 2026. USPS Postal Bulletin 22705 announced the DIM factor changing to 139 for Priority Mail Express, Priority Mail, USPS Ground Advantage and Parcel Select, at retail and commercial prices. The 1,728 in³ threshold was unchanged.
Do carriers round package dimensions up or to the nearest inch?
Up, at FedEx, UPS and USPS as their governing documents now read — FedEx since 18 August 2025. UPS changed from rounding to the nearest whole number to rounding up without announcing a date: the guide effective 23 December 2024 still said nearest, and the wording had changed by December 2025.
Why does this page list rules with no effective date?
Because the carrier does not publish one. A service guide is reissued each year with an effective date for the whole document, which does not tell you when a particular rule inside it changed. Where that is the case the page says so rather than guessing.